Qatar Implements Visa-Free Travel From Over 80 Countries

AwardWallet receives compensation from advertising partners for links on the blog. Terms Apply to the offers listed on this page. The opinions expressed here are our own and have not been reviewed, provided, or approved by any bank advertiser. Here's our complete list of Advertisers.

Qatar Airways has announced that the government of Qatar has relaxed visa restrictions to citizens of 80 countries. The move which is designed to boost tourism to the small kingdom with a rough political climate dovetails nicely with the deal from Qatar Airways offering free hotels and transit visas this summer. The 80 countries are split into two groups. The first group of 33 countries is entitled to a 90-day stay, while passport holders from the other group of 47 countries receive up to a 30-day stay.

Qatar Airways Announcement of Visa Free Travel

90-Day Waiver Countries

Nationals of the following countries are entitled to a visa waiver upon arrival. It is valid for 180 days from the date of issue and allows up to 90 days in the country. The 90 days can be used for a single trip or during multiple visits to Qatar.

  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey

30-Day Waiver Countries

Nationals of the following countries are entitled to a visa waiver upon arrival valid for 30 days allowing up to 30 days stay in the country. At the end of that 30-day period, the waiver can be extended one time for a further 30 days. It can be used for single or multiple visits during the initial or extended 30-day period.

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Ecuador
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Lebanon
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Thailand
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela

Our Take

The motivation for Qatar opening up like this is quite clear, in a time of rising tension and problems with its neighbors, the small country which is 11 times smaller than New York State but is the richest in the world in terms of per capita GDP, is looking to make all the friends it can. Free visa on arrival is a great way to remove a barrier to entry for foreigners

Source: Travel Update & Qatar Airways

AwardWallet Tip of The Day
Did you know that you can view all accounts with balances that have changed in the last week or month?
Show me how

The comments on this page are not provided, reviewed, or otherwise approved by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

**You may receive 5 bonus AAdvantage miles for leaving a comment (Details/FAQ)